simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Spring? January 12, 2009

Filed under: happiness,mountain biking — onarete @ 4:50 pm

az-sky

Photo credit

It was a weekend for exploration on the bike, some successful, some less so, but all fun.   We rode new (to us) trails and logged some big hours.  The weather right now is idyllic-70, sunny, blue skies.  This is my favorite time of the year in Arizona, and I am doing my best to soak it all up and store it away.  Little sprouts of grass have emerged in the desert, returning for a while to this harsh place.  These days remind me of the first nice days of the year in Idaho.  In April or May, there will be a day or two where the sun comes out and the air smells fresh and you can open the windows at last.  If it is a Saturday or a Sunday, you do yard work and ride your bike and try to stay outside as long as daylight allows.  Its only January here, but I am reminded of these happy memories and my soul fills full.  Its funny how happiness comes from somewhere deep within, memories created years ago.  On Monday or Tuesday nights now, I will ride home at dusk and for once, I’m not the only one outside.  Older couples walk hand in hand, and children play in the streets.   I wonder if they have those memories of spring as well.

 

Leave a Reply

