simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Happy Birthday to my Mom August 19, 2008

Filed under: family,happiness,love — onarete @ 5:17 pm

 

Today is my mom’s birthday.  She was the first love I ever knew; I loved her before my own birthday.  Everything warm and cuddly and safe is my Mom, even now.  She is the only person in my life who’s approval I’ve never had to work for or who’s love has felt unconditional.  My mom has never made me feel disappointed or embarrassed or insubstantial.  Every good moment in my life and every success has been possible because I knew she was the safety net beneath me.  She loves my sister and I so much; she is an inspiration to all to love like her.

My mom stayed home with us growing up.  Now as an adult, I realize what a huge sacrifice that was.  She was always, always there.  She did crafts, and threw birthday parties, and poured warm water into the kiddie pool.  She made me macaroni-and-cheese, and took me to ballet, and prayed with me at night.  She held my hand, and made Halloween costumes, and listened to me read while she cooked dinner. 

She’s still the best mom–a great friend, caregiver, and role model.  I miss her every single day and always feel like life is gonna be alright when I see her again.  Mom, I love you so so so much.  I hope you have a great birthday and know you are loved.

 

One Response to “Happy Birthday to my Mom”

  1. Mom Says:

    It has been an honor to have been given you, unique Kristen, to be my daughter – I have always been, and always will be, grateful for that privilege. I bow before you as you are the next generation to give beauty to this world, and you so are! I will love you, always. Mom


Leave a Reply

