simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Desert storm August 15, 2008

Filed under: arizona,desert,happiness,Nature,road biking,Uncategorized — onarete @ 6:17 pm

The wise man in the storm prays to God, not for safety from danger, but deliverance from fear  –Ralph Waldo Emerson

I suprised myself yesterday when I went for a road ride and realized that it had been over 3 weeks!  Part of this is that it has been just too hot to hang out on the blacktop in the 105+ degree heat.  It is much easier to wait until the sun goes down and ride dirt.  As I left work though, it was a cool 97 degrees, so I jumped at the opportunity.  It was hot and sunny but not overwhelmingly so.

I did the Home -> Bush Highway -> Usery Pass -> Home loop.  Once I passed the Walgreens, not a soul was out.  Even the traffic was abnormally light.  It was just me and the desert, and I was flying.  Every so often I would look around and be hit by another wave of awe at the beauty of the mountains and the river and the saguaro cactus saluting as I went by.

As I approached the turnoff for Usery Pass, the sky was turning ominous.  Half way up the climb, dirt and sand started blowing across the road (and yes, at one point, a tumbleweed).  At the top, it had gone from a sunny day to black, lightening, and windy.  On the descent, the wind gusts were threatening to knock me over.  As hard as I tried, I couldnt keep my front wheel in a straight line.  Every time I nearly crashed and kept it together, I felt a surge of adrenaline cursing through my body.  Wild and smiling, I turned toward home, the wind to my back, spinning furiously to outrun the storm.  I was flying.

I pulled into the apartment complex just as the storm instensified and the sky went totally dark.  Blair had dinner on the stove.  I was salty and windblown.  Inside, it was safe.  I was totally, totally happy.

 

One Response to “Desert storm”

  1. hSg Says:

    a good pic of the stormy weather on sky …


Leave a Reply

