simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Catching up August 4, 2008

As usual, the last few weeks have been a whirlind.  Finally, a moment to take a deep breath and rewind.

STP:  KD came to visit and we rode Seattle to Portland with another of her friends.  200 miles in 2 days, crazy fun.  Here we are at the finish line (pic stolen from KD).

Idaho:  I went and visited my family in Idaho Falls for close to two weeks.  The highlight was an epic mtn bike ride with my dad from the Kelly Canyon area to Driggs.  We rode up and over Garns mountain at 9,015 feet.  Not only was it fun and beautiful, it was awesome to experience it with my Dad.  It is a day I will never forget. 

 I also got a fun, if impossible, ride on the South Fork trail with Blair.  One of the most beautiful places on Earth.  Other than mtn biking, Dad and I went on a killer road ride.  I also got in some fun cruises around town, an overnight float trip on the South Fork, swimming at Heise, lots of good cooking by Mom including homemade ice cream, fantasy Tour de France, and most importantly lots of love.  My family means so much to me!

Road trip:  Blair and I drove back to Mesa in a rental van with all of his stuff.  The first day we drove to Zion National Park and arrived by mid-afternoon.  We rode that Pa’rus trail and then the road into the canyon.  At the lodge, we locked up the bikes and went for a hike to the Lower, Mid, and Upper Pools.  Zion definately counts as one of the most spectacular places I’ve ever been.  We also went swimming in the river; I thought I had died and gone to heavan. 

The next day we drove to Flagstaff and went biking in the Shultz Pass area.  These trails were fun, fast, and we loved biking through the pines.  We had planned on camping overnight but a monsoon hit us, and we drove back to Phoenix in the downpour.

Mesa:  Now I am back at work and back in Phoenix.  I didnt realize how much this seems like home to me, until I went away and came back.  I love the dessert and the sun and my life here.  Blair is here with me now too, which makes it that much better.  We’ve gotten in four rides since being back–Hawes, another Hawe’s ride (this one at night), S. Mountain, and the McDowell’s. 

All and all, life has been pretty darn good.

 

Leave a Reply

