simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Earth Day April 21, 2008

Filed under: Earth Day,environmentalism,Nature,sustainablility — onarete @ 4:43 pm

If you believe in prayer, pray that people will have the strength to change. -Unknown

In anticipation of Earth Day tommorrow, I have come up with a list of environmental resolutions for the coming year.   Living sustainably and protecting the environment for future generations is a moral issue for me; and yet, I dont always walk the walk.  It is easy to think that you aren’t the problem.  And yet, it isn’t a problem “out there.”  Our current environmental problems are very  much the problems of individuals multiplied millions of times over.  No change will happen without change on a personal level.

In that light, here are small steps that I am committing to taking every day this year.  And if you notice me slacking off on my promises, please hold me accountable.

1.  Only use re-usable non-toxic water bottles.  It takes 1.5 million barrels of oil to produce all of the bottled water American’s drink in a year.   In addition, I am only going to use non-toxic waterbottles.  Nalgene and Camelback (two of my favorites) are both made with toxic resins.

2.  Take my own bags grocery shopping.  From now on, I won’t be using anymore plastic or paper grocery bags.  When I hit up the grocery store, I will be bringing re-usable bags.   An estimated 8 billion pounds of plastic bags, wraps and sacks enter the waste stream every year in the US and in a landfill, they take 1,000 years to degrade.

3.  Eat green.  I might do better on this one than the average person, but I still need to make a consious effort each day to make sure that my food consumption is sustainable on a large scale.  This means eating organic, local, and vegan.

4.  Spend one day a week car-less.  For me, it is way to easy to justify driving places that are within walking or biking distance.  As a start, I plan to leave my car parked at home one day per week.

5.  Buy for the long term.  Only make purchases that are necessary and that won’t end up as consumer waste.  Buy quality items that will last a long time, and research products to make sure I am buying from the most sustainable company.  

Think about what you can do this year to make a positive impact.

 

Leave a Reply

