simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

Back to earth March 22, 2008

Filed under: adventure,knowledge,life,self-discovery — onarete @ 3:25 pm

liberia.jpg 

 These past few weeks have been some of the busiest, most exciting days of my life.  First I went to Florida, then I moved to Seattle, then I spent the last week in St. Louis and now I am back in Seattle in a new job and a new environment.  I’ve never been good at change, so this has been a test of my ability to adapt.  I seem to be handling it surprisingly well.  The upside to all the chaos and adventure is the opportunity to learn more about myself and to develop the skills to live the good life.

What I’ve discovered:

  • Forget what other people think of you.  A girl told me the other day that she can’t imagine ever eating or going to a movie solo:  “All those people would think you have no friends.”  Forget what other people think; live your life fully.  And always do the right thing.
  • Find solitude.  As long as you are constantly surrounded by noise, you will never have the ability to contemplate who you are and where you want to go.
  • Be honest and open.  I’ve realized the more honest I am (ala this blog), the more I can just be myself and accept my flaws.  Being honest also gives you the opportunity to better yourself.
  • Relax and accept life as it comes.  Planning can only get you so far.  Most of life’s great opportunities are presented to you when the time is right.  Take them up and don’t be too distracted by anxiety to notice when they come.

I’ve also become acutely aware in this transition of some of my shortcomings and have decided to work on them.  Most of these are interpersonal: be less judgemental, be more open and friendly with new people, and forgive freely.  It won’t be easy but I am determined.

I’m dedicated to living the good life.

 

One Response to “Back to earth”

  1. Nicole Says:

    This was very sweet. I can feel your excitement, it’s contagious.


Leave a Reply

