simplicitee

Reading, thinking, biking, sharing…

The desert is green! February 4, 2008

Filed under: desert,mountain biking,Nature — onarete @ 4:03 pm
Tags: , ,

cogs.jpg

When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.  -John Muir 

With all of the rain and cool weather we have been getting lately, the desert is greener than I have ever seen it.  The ground is covered a think lush layer of grass that looks like AstroTurf.  The saguaros are swollen with water, and everything seems less prickly than usual.  The air smells cleaner and the sky looks clearer.  It is, in a word, beautiful.

Yesterday, we went to South Mountain and rode Desert Classic.  It was probably the coldest day of mountain biking I have done in Arizona.  The sun never came out and the entire ride I kept looking at the looming clouds, convincing myself that if I rode a little faster, the rain wouldn’t catch us.  And it didn’t. 

We rode up to the heli-pad, which I had never done before.  The trail reminded me of the singletrack in Boise, where you go up and up and up.  I like that kind of riding–where you look down and can see how far you’ve come and feel like you’ve actually achieved something, overcome an obstacle.  And from atop the heli-pad, there was nothing but green and more green.  I couldn’t help but smile.

 

Leave a Reply

